Universal Design for Learning: A Practical Guide

Section 3.3: The UDL Framework

The Universal Design for Learning framework is grounded in three cognitive networks: affective, recognition, strategic. Each of these three networks uses a principle which can in turn be used to guide design and practice.

Shows three different parts of the brain: affective network, recognition network, and strategic network.

Before you move on, please go through the UDL Guidelines and identify some key pieces to help begin your journey in navigating the UDL framework:

  • Brain networks
  • Connection to learning
  • Goal
  • Expert learner
  • Access
  • Internalize

In the following content, we will explain Engagement, Representation, and Action & Expression separately and provide you with some actionable ideas.


Icon for the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License

A Comprehensive Guide to Applying Universal Design for Learning Copyright © 2022 by Dr. Seanna Takacs; Junsong Zhang; Helen Lee; Lynn Truong; and David Smulders is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License, except where otherwise noted.

Share This Book